Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Recently, it has been an issue about law involvement in creating people's recycling habit. A certain segment of society considers involving legal standing to enhance the program while the others think in a different way. Regarding this matter, I partially agree with the idea to support legal involvement in order to increase the waste management system for some reasons. Law enforcement is very crucial to increase domestic recycling. This statement is supported by X and Y Theory from Douglas Mcgregor, saying that X type of person tends to disobey the rules if there is no supervision or real reward. This is the main reason for the need of legal enforcement since most Y type people have realized the importance of recycling. The simplest method to implement is by giving good benefits and reducing taxes related to waste processing which can trigger the others to follow. For example, public may exchange recycled waste for some money like the concept of a bank. In the future, the involvement of punishment can be considered after the previous policy has been well established. On the other hand, governments should also consider that creating a law product is not the only way to focus since people's awareness would be the more important thing to be increased. For instance, although there are so many policies to prohibit the existence of cigarettes, the number of smokers has not reduced considerably. One thing to consider is by involving environmental management curriculum in school from kindergarten until university to make it as a top of mind from the early stages. In conclusion, it would be a good thing by involving legal standing with domestic recycling activities. However, it is not the only way to create a long-lasting program since awareness in each person is also critical. Therefore, I stand on the perspective that governments should run both of the ideas in parallel.