The recent popularity of online shopping will result in the end of the high street shops. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the growth of online shopping is leading to the shutting down of many smaller businesses. Though I see that many educated adults prefer to use the Internet via websites and cell phones for their purchases, I believe there is a market segment of elderly people and an uneducated population for street shops. To begin with, the significance of procuring goods online increased during the covid pandemic period. People started to realise the benefits of reduced waiting time, increased ease of selection and improved productivity of lives by ordering things online. For instance, our family started to buy groceries and vegetables using BigBasket where we can have the smart list ready from past purchases, and the whole procurement can be finished in a few minutes by simply adding the items to the cart. Henceforth, e-shopping provides extreme benefits of significantly saving time and providing a contact-less purchase to keep one safe from corona spread. As a result of these benefits, the growth rate of online shopping is rapid and threatening to small businesses. While the educated section of society is very comfortable using computers and smartphones to order goods online, the uneducated and elderly section of society prefers to go to local markets for their shopping. Not only that these people find it difficult to upgrade themselves to an online mode of buying things but also they find that prices are not reasonable enough to negotiate with vendors of the local market. For example, my parents still prefer to visit nearby shops to buy an item for the satisfaction of bargaining it for a discount. As street vendors do not add transportation costs to the purchase price, there is still a demand for buying goods from them and it is still preferred by the lower-income groups. For this reason, I believe these markets do not vanish completely due to the emergence of online businesses. In conclusion, I believe the local shops in towns and cities still hold their value by offering reasonable prices and bargains and would not be easily superseded by online businesses, though it might happen in far-future when everyone in the society becomes educated and elevated in their social status.