Some people believe that we should celebrate National Holidays, Whilst others oppose the idea and say that the Government should invest this money in health and education. Discuss Both Views and What is your personal opinion in this regard.

While some people opine that National Holidays are significant to be commemorated, others believe that the government should allocate funds for providing the basic facilities such as health and education. Even though I understand the importance of allocating the budget for the improvement of living standards, I argue that the funds allocated for celebrating the festivals and holidays are vital to imbibe the nation's culture to generations. On the one hand, there is no doubt that a country thrives upon the health index and literacy rate of its people. The availability of hospitals and schools to all the people across the states of a country would determine its progress. For instance, during the covid pandemic, the government should necessarily fund a major amount of budget to healthcare as it helps in handling the needs of patients in terms of supplying oxygen cylinders, hospital beds and vaccinations. Moreover, the ratio of educated people in a country, plays a critical role in improving its economy. Henceforth, it is a favourable argument to invest the major proportions of budgets to these basic needs. On the other hand, avoiding the celebration of national holidays comes at the cost of forgetting the culture and heritage of a country. For instance, in India, Gandhi Jayanti is celebrated to remember the unique personality who helped the country to get freedom from the Britishers. It helps in passing down the lessons from the past to the younger generations. Even the festivals like Dushera in India are celebrated in a big way which helps in bringing people together and fostering a sense of belonging to their community. Therefore, these holidays help in establishing an identity of a nation. In conclusion, though the government should invest a heavy portion of the budget towards building the basic facilities to boost the economy of the country, some portion of it is needed for the celebration of holidays, in my opinion. I would predict this would help in passing down the cultural heritage of a nation to future generations.