Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is clear that our society is based on rules and laws. There are many people who think that it would not function if ones were to do anything they wanted to do. In my opinion, I partly agree with this statement for several reasons, which I would point out in this essay. First and foremost, with the set of rules and laws imposed by the government, the community are likely to live a peaceful life without any major troubles. For example, when the law limiting driving speed is conducted, the number of accidents and collisions on the streets has decreased, which saves a lot of people's lives. Besides, the citizens know which behaviours are acceptable in the society where they live in order to lead a good life. Thus, the more they comply, the happier they would be. However, I would contend that this would bring more harm than good. To illustrate, in some countries the government do not allow people to own a gun, which could be a good opportunity for a burglar to break into a house in an attempt to kill the owners and steal the property. Additionally, the rules and laws in some parts of the world are too loose for the citizens to abide by. This could be seen in Vietnam where the criminals, such as pickpocketing or murdering, usually take place but in the end, the offenders just pay a fine for what they have just done to the victims. Hence, there is no fairness or justice. In conclusion, while I agree that rules and laws set some standards for the society where people live, I believe that without any real restrictions the society will become worse than ever.