Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is believed by some people that in order to limit traffic and environmental problems namely pollution is by increasing the fuels' prices. I have to disagree with this statement because I reckon that this would only widen social inequality. Instead, there are more rational and effective measures that could be taken to solve these problems. Firstly, it is true that increasing the prince of petrol can indeed reduce traffic issues such as traffic-jams and road savety since there won't be a lot of vehicles meaning less risk of accidents, this also means less toxics emission. However, this also means that only rich people who can afford the expensive petrol price would be able to drive their cars, not only that, but rising the price would automatically result in public transportation higher costs and the augementation of living expense. For example, most trades are based on petrol because the goods transportation would be done by truck or airplan aeroplanes or other fuel means of transport. Therefore, I find this to be the utter non-sense since it would cause a colossal economic crisis. There are many alternatives that could be taken in consideration to solve traffic and pollution problems. Firstly, the government should be responsible for the public transportation service improvement. In other words, if buses were convenient it will draw more people to use them resulting in reducing traffic-congestions and our carbon foot-print. In conclusion, while it is deemed that increasing petrol prices is capable of resolving traffic issues as well as pollution problems, I think that this would cause more challenges than it would solve, and therefore, I believe that improving the sevice quality of public transportation.