In some countries more and more people are buying imported food rather than local food. Why do people buy? What can be done to encourage people to buy more locally produced food?

Recently imported food is becoming the dominant product in the market and is gradually replacing local ones in people's food baskets. A great number of reasons are being suggested by experts which are enticing people to buy them; however, there are several practical solutions which can help local cuisines to prevail. Those who are buying these types of food have valid motivations. They usually take the example of cheap imported products like noodles which not only have reasonable price but also take a few minutes to get prepared. So, having this ready food for a meal is more compatible with the rat race called life. Apart from that, mankind has an ambition to experience new things. For instance, trying imported international food is more preferable for an individual who is tired of their repetitive local food. This new taste directly contributes to experience a tentative excitement after a boring long day. Furthermore, these types of food usually have attractive packages. It is needless to say that humans like beauty so it is not far from mind for them to be encouraged easily to buy one. Thus, one should say here that choosing imported food over local ones is inevitable. Despite the above so-called motives, the solutions are feasible. First of all, one effective way to tackle this problem is for government to control prices. If the government invests in local businesses to provide cheap meals, people will be encouraged to buy their products. For example, for local foods to survive in the competitive food market they should compete with affordable Chinese foods unless nobody buys their products. Added to that, by increasing the level of public education about the disadvantages of prepared food and its additives, the importance of eating more fresh local ones will be clear. This usually leads to the public even spending more on buying expensive healthy foods to guarantee their health. To sum up, imported food has been playing an increasingly important role in our diet. Nevertheless, there are several causes behind it, making local food more affordable and increasing the public awareness of the negative impacts of those types of foods can bring local ones back to their place.