In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is no doubt that the developments happening in technology will shape our future. Some would argue that in the future we will have no hard copies of books and newspapers, due to the availability of those online and free as well. In my opinion, if the publishing companies did not change and modify their printed goods, the future will have no place for them. The reason online reading becoming rapidly more popular is simply because of its convenience. Reading from a potable gadget saves both time and money compared to shopping for your favourite newspaper. This is exemplified by the popularity of a device called kindle, this device allows people to read most of their books with just a couple of taps and touches. This gives them more time to read rather than worrying about where to buy their wanted book. I would argue that the prevalence of devices like the kindle will increase until there is no need for printing. However, if the current companies want to save their businesses, they should start implementing some modifications to cope with the changes happening. For instance, Nat geo, which is a great informative magazine, started a yearly subscription program, where you only pay once a year and then the magazine is delivered to doorsteps monthly. This technique might help customers of the brand to overlook the advantages of online browsing. In conclusion, in the upcoming,years more people will opt for reading online soft copies of both books and newspapers because of their convenience compared to other methods of reading. In order to save their share of the market publishing companies will need to introduce new features to their marketing and production.