Some people think that hosting international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Nowadays, many countries run to bid to host mega sports events. Some people believe that if the race for those events is successful, it will benefit their economy, while others think that despite success or not, it causes many detrimental to their society. In my perspective, I partially agree with both views and will outline some reasons for that with examples. On the one hand, in terms of negative impacts, the main reason is that a government will spend big sums on infrastructure and facilities as well. The cost of hosting a major sporting event has increased significantly in recent years. It is hard to meet these costs through sponsorship and ticket sales alone. For example, Canada needed 30 years to pay off all costs of hosting the Montreal Olympics. Therefore, it can lead to higher taxes for the local population. However, a sporting event like the Olympics or World Cup can attract thousands of people for the duration of the games. These foreign tourists can boost the local economy through their spending behaviours. For instance, Barcelona saw higher visitor numbers continue during and after the Barcelona Olympics of 1992. Moreover, there are more jobs created to support the event. Some argue this temporary job can regenerate the local economy after the games. Last but not least, a mega sporting event usually requires upgrades to transport and communication links. This investment leaves a lasting legacy for the whole economy. In conclusion, hosting sports events can prove some pros and cons. The result of this depends on the organized ability of the host.