Music and other arts seem to be features of every society. In what ways are music and other arts important for societies and for individuals?

Today, arts such as music, painting, and dancing are considered an important aspect of every society. They are instrumental in promoting the well-being of individuals by reducing stress and ensuring benefits for local communities. Throughout time, music and arts have played a big role in treating people’s illnesses and in promoting their mental health. This is mainly because they help in regulating human physiological functions such as regulating body blood pressure, heart rate, pulse, and stress hormones. In a recent study conducted by the Canadian Medical Association in 2020, the effects of melody, painting, and dance as a means of therapy have shown positive results as it helped many patients with a reduction in stress and anxiety levels. As a matter of fact, nurses and recreational therapists, are now using these tools to promote good health. In Canada, for example, they play classical melodies in hospitals to keep patients in the delivery room and operating room calm. Moreover, they also encourage arts in nursing homes to cure depression. In addition, it has been known that they help sustain the economy of local communities especially, in places where tourism is the main source of revenue. For instance, intricate architectural designs, canals, artistic heritages such as Venetian Carnival and many film festivals in Venice, attract thousands of tourists from all over the world. Certainly, if a place is aesthetically appealing to one’s eye, it would boost tourism in that place. This creates a positive ripple effect because the increased flow of tourists increases the demand for local crafts such as souvenirs which, in turn, generates employment. To conclude, it has been justified that music and arts provide advantages to both people and society as they serve to promote good health and contributes contribute to the economic welfare of communities.