Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Education for children always wonders the question what we should teach a child to strengthen personality and skills for the mature stage in life. People have different points of views that children should be more competitive or co-operative. While a motivation of competition can build good preparation for adult life, I do believe that working in a group is more important. On the one hand, firstly, competition can be considered as a way to raise up the motivation for children. In some high schools or even primary schools, the compulsory requirement of upgrading academic level in high-quality classes is the highest mark and excellent evaluation on final test each year with a competitive rate equivalent to 5%. Competing to be the best inspires high-flyers to acquire better and unique methods for achieving and conquering new record. Moreover, a sense of competition enhances/boosts/improves the ability to think independently to come over hardship or troubles faced in real life. However, some stressful tests will lead children to depressing emotion when they cannot achieve a better result with high expectation. On the other hand, some people assert that it is better for children to develop themselves, by the way, to cooperate with others. When they work in a group, knowledge will be shared and lots of innovative ideas will come out/will be come up with. Children can learn from each other to strengthen strong points and address weakness points also. In reality, adult life requires the skills of communication and ability to create a network which regards as the basic foundation for social development. Collaborating with teammates also sharpens management skills and raises responsibility for working and living in the community. In conclusion, for best preparation for adult life, the more cooperative children are, the better they advance themselves.