Research has shown that consumerism is a major problem of the young generation due to the effect of the media. why and what are the consequences?

It is known that in modern societies advertisements are increasing exponentially. Every one of us is constantly hitten by them through media such as television, radio, internet and billboards. Many studies sustain that younger people are the main target of consumerism. As a result, somebody argues that they can produce some issues for them. This essay will discuss the reasons why this phenomenon is happening and which are the consequences. First, the young generation is the part of the population old enough to understand how a society work but at the same time teenagers do have not enough life experience to choose what is better for their future. Also, they are more linked to all the new kinds of technologies such as social networks and e-shops. All these factors allow thinking that the young generation is more sensitive toward consumerism. An excess of consumerism can cause an attraction toward material objects and useless gadgets. Hence, this causes a rip to important virtues and ethical behaviours. For example, it happens that a person may prefer collecting objects like smartphones, computers, clothes, and cars instead of building relationships, helping the community or trying to not enhance the pollution by buying useless things. Furthermore, a population without critical thoughts are not able to help to build a better society in the future. In conclusion, consumerism is the base of a capitalistic society and it is useful to increase welfare. But youngers' values can be destroyed by exasperate consumerism. To avoid these backwards, governments should control the advertisement frequency. At the same time, it has to remember to the population that purchasings are important but morals, ethics and virtues are far more crucial.