Some people believe that engaging in an active pastime does more to develop children`s life skills than time spent reading. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Extracurricular activities are crucial for a child's future growth. Therefore, some people opine that the involvement of a kid in such pursuits helps them to cultivate life skills rather than just reading books. I completely agree with the aforementioned statement and this essay will further elaborate on my views in detail. Despite some benefits reading can impair certain capabilities among youngsters. Certainly, someone with this sort of habit may pose an eidetic memory or a great concentration power but lacks abilities like self-confidence and self-reliance. For example, a class topper may have a vast knowledge of a subject but will eventually fail to explain it to a bunch of listeners due to a lack of assertiveness. Thus, it is vital to take part in all activities for better self-development. Secondly, having various hobbies will also provide life living experiences. Whether it be dancing, singing or playing chess, each and every pastime has its own way of teaching a lesson. By learning such habits youths develop qualities like teamwork and leadership which will help them while doing a job or running a business. For instance, a student actively participating in a school football match or working on a science project will value the importance of teamwork and have a basic idea about being a leader. In this way, youngsters can learn important things with fun. In conclusion, it is evident that engagement in an active pastime is more helpful in the evolvement of the children instead of just mugging up words. In my opinion, they should be encouraged to identify and pursue their interests.