In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Fiction books and television programs that address crime are gradually gaining more attention around the world. The reality can be traced to the alarming rates of criminal activities in many countries and the need for law enforcement agencies to educate the populace of their respective nations. In my view, crime novels and crime television shows are both educative and instrumental for change in every society. To begin, the high rate of criminal acts has made television crime drama and novels focusing on crime widespread. This means that the regular accounts of crime in the society leads to the representation of such crimes in books and on broadcast media. For example, the incessant kidnapping of young female children in Nigeria inspired the television drama titled 'Air Your Voice'. Additionally, law enforcement agencies employ plays on television to recreate the awful vices that are dominant in the society. In other words, through these Crime Television shows, the members of the society can get enlightened on how crime works and they can protect themselves or prevent crime. Looking at the value of crime fiction books and television shows, education is achieved. Books about crime espouse the many ugly acts that are performed by criminals including robbery, murder and treason. Take for example The African Menace, a book that describes how young boys are indoctrinated into cults and instructed to steal from their parents and school teachers. Likewise, these books and programs enable many governments to carry out adequate measures to secure their citizens and reduce crime rates sustainably. To support this, since the commencement of The Lagos Morning Show, local authorities in Lagos have encouraged citizens to always wear their identity cards. In conclusion, books and television shows about crime are rampant in many countries due to the need to educate the citizens and decrease crime.