Now-a-days many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

These days, a lot of people are preferring their own start-up rather than working for another company or employer. This is mainly because self-employment enables them to work Independently and brings increased job satisfaction. On the downside, there is no guaranteed income and not enough knowledge. To start with, self-employment brings Independence to people where they get the flexibility to arrange their own schedule and work around their other commitments which leads to a better quality of life. This is possible because they can work at a time convenient to them. For instance, being your own boss takes away the stress of office hours, deadlines, and getting their leave application approved. Another advantage is increased job satisfaction, which means people can personally reap the rewards from their own hard work. For example, launching one’s own business has become quite easy now because of the internet. Further, it does not require a huge initial investment to launch a business online or from home. Moreover, there are so many ways to get entrepreneur tax deductions to reduce business taxes (and costs). Hence, it is very lucrative for entrepreneurs to get independence and work satisfaction on their terms. However, there are several drawbacks to this. Firstly, in the beginning, their income may be a lot lower than their previous salary. Actually, it might take them years to break even, which will require immense perseverance. For instance, recently in the event of a pandemic, small businesses suffered economic recession and some of them were the first ones to shut down. Secondly, when people are self-employed, they start with very little real knowledge of the business, which can prove detrimental. As a result, they sometimes underestimate the expenses, and overhead costs, undermine competitors and could end up working 16 to 18 hours a day especially, in the initial stages. In conclusion, people are choosing the self-employment option because of its flexibility and increased workforce satisfaction. Even if it is true that they are unlikely to make a lot of money in the beginning, they can enjoy more freedom and better profit in the future. The main downside is that there is no guaranteed monthly income.