Some people think computers and the Internet are more important in child’s education. Others believe that schools and teachers are essential for children to learn. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays there is too much crime in most states and there is a need to try and deal with this problem. Certain individuals believe that criminals must be given longer sentences in prison while others think there are other ways for crime reduction. I, however, think that there are other alternatives besides giving long prison sentences to offenders. The essay below will discuss both views in depth. To begin with, breaking the law is sometimes involuntary. People live with different stress and pressure which sometimes force them to do certain crimes. This is why I support the idea that there are other options for reducing crime. For instance, a study conducted in Ethiopia showed that 34% of offenders especially teenager thieves were coming from child-headed families. Thieving became their lifestyle as they tried to fend for their siblings with no adult to help. Instead of taking such people to prison, the government should provide food and counselling services for them. On the other hand, some people think giving longer prison sentences is the best way to deal with lawbreakers. They mention that prison is a rehabilitation centre for criminals. I think this point is invalid because the jail does not change some people's bad habits, instead they come out with new strategies for committing offences. For example, a study done in South Africa in 2014 showed that 54% of convicts when freed out of jail resorted to crime on purpose because jail became their second home. This is proof enough that locking them in jail is not enough, more needs to be done. In conclusion, I think there are other ways of reducing crime other than long jail sentences because committing a crime is at times caused by difficult situations which need government intervention. However, some think lawbreakers should rot in jail as it changes their perspectives. These and more issues have been discussed at length in the essay above.