The government spend enormous amount of money on renovation of old buildings in large cities. Some believe that this money is better spent on building new houses and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this argument?

The architecture of buildings in the city of a country reflects the state of development in it. Thus, many concur with the idea of allocating the complete budget for building new constructions and roadways while a few others believe that it can be spent on renovating the old constructions. I partially agree that some amount of budget should be allocated for the renovations of old monuments that help grow the economy of a country by attracting tourism, while the major amount can be spent on the expansion of the transport system and new buildings. On the one hand, investing the money in constructing new roads and flyovers is a dire necessity as there is an enormous increase in traffic congestion in many large cities of the world. The expanded roads can help commuters take their journey comfortably and reach their destinations on time. For instance, many people working in Information Technology companies in the area of the Hitech City of Hyderabad are benefitted by using the new flyovers built from various places connecting to the hub. Moreover, the construction of modern buildings helps citizens feel a sense of pride in their city. For example, the unique architecture of the Cyber Gateway building has become very popular among many in the Hitech City area. On the other hand, the long-dated monuments of a city are very important to be preserved as they reflect the true heritage and culture of the city. For instance, Golconda fort and Charminar of Hyderabad are popular attractions that need to be maintained and preserved by renovating as needed. While the argument applies to the historical monuments, the same fails when the building does not have cultural significance or it has poor quality in the design or it has become structurally weak over a period. For example, the old parliament building of Hyderabad which was constructed 20 years ago is a definite candidate for the complete reconstruction. In conclusion, I agree that the major portion of the budget should be spent on improving the modernization and the transportation, I would also argue for the allocation of money for the renovation of some old monuments and buildings that carry cultural importance. I recommend that the government of cities across the world should put an effort to retain old buildings that reflect the local heritage of their cities.