More and more people are leaving countryside to live in cities.Do more advantages or disadvantages of this development for environment.

It has been observed that an increasing number of people migrate to the urban areas from the rural places. This situation has more demerits than merits for an environment which will discuss further in the ensuing paragraphs. To commence, the biggest disadvantage is it causes climate change. To elaborate on this, it is true that many individuals are travelling to city areas in order to find better jobs or educational facilities. Thus, the population has increased at a tremendous rate. Also, people are living in higher standards of living in developed areas. The majority of citizens have their own vehicles which will lead to increased emission of toxic fumes into the atmosphere. This means, the increased rate of carbon monoxide is not only responsible for pollution but also for ozone layer depletion. As a result, the overall temperature of earth's surface will increase. For instance, according to the environment department of the world, it is proven that the growing population of cities is the major cause of environmental problems as it contributed to global warming. Moreover, the rising populations across the cities arise housing problems. To overcome this issue, farmlands are destroyed in order to build houses. Henceforth, deforestation occurs; carbon dioxide in the surrounding will increase. This will cause air pollution. To exemplify, the best evidence is, that the Bopal area of Ahmedabad city becomes the most polluted place across the nation owing to the cutting down trees on farms. In conclusion, it is commented that proliferating the population in metro areas causes repercussions on the surroundings such as global warming as well as air pollution.