To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Certain individuals are of the opinion that insects could be a very important source of food for a country while others think that harvesting insects would affect the ecosystem and that they are also unhealthy. This essay would discuss both views as well as state the pros and cons of both sides of the argument. To begin with, it is true that some insects are edible and nutritious and can meet the need for food demand of a growing population. In so many developing countries, food scarcity is a major concern and one beneficial way to combat this problem is by harvesting bugs and pests that have been proven to be healthy for man's consumption. For example, in my country Nigeria, worms provide a high level of protein and do no harm to the body. If citizens of low socioeconomic countries can get the necessary nutrients from insects to stay alive, why shouldn't they? On the other hand, these creatures could be preyed on indiscriminately and this could affect nature. Insects are very useful in the ecosystem because they help to pollinate crops, and also increase the microbes needed for biodiversity. However, if the amount of these small animals reduces drastically it could pose even more danger for man. For instance, the extinction of certain mosquitoes which is not only edible but also provides the plasmodium used to make anti-malarial medications could make humans more susceptible to malaria caused by other mosquitoes. In conclusion, although some of these bugs are sources of meal for mankind, certain rules and regulations should be enforced when it comes to their hunt. The benefit of preying on these creatures for consumption should not blindside their importance in nature.