In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, around the world, a lot of people prefer to stay alone. I feel this is the result of a more self-centred and intolerant nature that we have developed over the last many years. Most people tend to live only for themselves and relationships have become fickle. In this essay, I will discuss why I see this as a negative development illustrating the several disadvantages that entail this choice. There are so many disadvantages to living alone. For example, loneliness. This is one major battle most people have to fight when they choose to stay alone. We are inherently social creatures. Human contact and touch are of utmost importance for our mental and emotional well being. We need to feel loved and cared for in order for us to function well. However, when someone is staying alone, they are essentially on their own for everything. The only contact they might have is virtual and that is not as nearly as good as in-person contact with others. Also, loneliness for extended periods can lead to depression. This is a clinical condition. A lot of people are dealing with depression nowadays and they do not even realise this. No matter how successful they are in their careers, no matter how famous or rich they are, they feel sad for some reason they do not recognize. Sadly, the lack of meaningful relationships in life is the main reason in several of these cases. A practical difficulty of staying alone is having no one to help or take care of you especially when you fall sick. We all need someone to look after us and make sure we are doing okay when we are not feeling well. We might need help to get to the doctor's office or take medicines on time. A warm homecooked soup or meal is what many crave to have when they are ill. Well, this is not possible if you are staying alone. Hence,in my opinion, there are serious debilitating impacts on the quality of life of people who live on their own. This is a negative development. Thus people should learn to value relationships more and strive to build meaningful relationships in life.