Children can learn effectively by watching television. Therefore they should be encouraged to watch television regularly at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Kids have the ability to learn more effectively by watching television and therefore should be more encouraged to watch tv more often at their own home or at school. In this essay,I will provide my personal opinion. Nowadays, children have a lot more access to new information or to learn a new thing by watching a show or a commercial on tv. In saying this, kids can by accident see something they should not have seen by watching a show not age-appropriate. For example, between the years 2002 – 2005 a tv show called Simpsons were very popular and a lot of young viewers were watching. This programme showed everything from murder to silly jokes that were inappropriate to younger kids. A lot of parents back then felt that Simpsons should be banned from being shown since they felt they did not have the possibility to remove it from their own tv. In addition, a lot of TVs these days to have child lock on their system, this will make it easier for parents in current times to lock programmes that they do not want their children to have access to. This will also give a mom or a dad an opportunity to let their child watch something more appropriate for their age and have the chance to gain new knowledge. For instance, in most of the world single parents who do not have access to help from another person, lets their child sit and watch a show on Disney channels. They produce a lot of positive information and have the possibility to let the kid learn. To sum it up, young children do have more knowledge and can easy access any show they want on a tv. Therefore, it is important grown-ups use child locks on their personal TVs as well as ensuring their child safety. I personally believe that children should be more controlled in what they are watching and that the people around them ensure they are only looking at age-appropriate programmes.