it is expected that there will be higher proportion of older people than that of young people in many countries in future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development

Population explosion is a problem that many nations face. In order to curb this problem, many governments have imposed rules and regulations such as the number of children families can have. As a result, it is forecasted that in these nations the number of older folks will outnumber the young generation in the coming years. Personally, in my opinion, it is a threat to the economy of a country because young folks are the future and backbone of it. The foremost reason for believing that population disproportion is a negative trend is that governments often impose strict laws on their citizens, and if not followed they are punished. For example, the China government asked couples to have only one child and if they disobey this rule they will not be provided with basic facilities like medical and education. Therefore, Many researchers published that China is becoming a nation of older people. Moreover, elders are a burden because of their incapabilities to contribute. For instance, states spend a lot of resources on their retirees' pensions and Japan is already spending more than 60% of its wealth in this regard which thus puts pressure on the younger generation to pay more taxes. Additionally, young individuals are the future and backbone of a nation. They bring innovation to the country. For example, most of the startups are being run by the young community in India which not only help to build a strong economy but also give employment opportunities to others. Consequently, the state does not need to spend money to bring workforce from other regions or countries. Furthermore, the life expectancy rate is degrading despite the availability of the best medical facilities. To illustrate, in the recent pandemic, a billion people have been killed without any medical care. In conclusion, I am inclined to support that putting restrictions to limit the young generation is a negative trend as it will put more pressure on the government to spend more money to provide basic amenities to seniors rather than spending it on building infrastructure. Besides, juniors build the economy of a nation. Having said that, individuals rather should be educated about having a minimum number of children.