Many people think that money promotes happiness. What importance does money have regarding happiness?

We are living in a very materialistic society where money is associated with happiness. However, many people have begun to question whether wealth brings true happiness and fulfilment. Personally, there are always two sides of a coin that should be carefully considered. On the one hand, the privilege of having money or earning a satisfying salary can provide a multitude of advantages. First and foremost, if you are wealthy, you can satisfy all your daily needs such as having a big house, covering all the basic expenses or raising your own family properly. Alternatively, by gaining more money, you can fulfil your ambitions of embarking on a big journey or buying luxurious items which will bring you more comfort and pleasure. Thus, when you consider the possibility of not being able to pay for food or afford hospital care, then the importance of money for your well-being becomes obvious. On the other hand, it is claimed that money often brings dissatisfaction. Specifically, while trying to acquire wealth, people are not able to devote time to their own family or friends. In order to make as much money as possible, they live under terribly stressful circumstances. As a consequence, they end up suffering from severe diseases such as depression. In my opinion, by trying attain wealth, people usually become greedy and they forget the truly important things in life such as family, friends, love and health. To sum up, although it is difficult to be content living in poverty, it is equally difficult to feel satisfied spending all your time in the pursuit of wealth. I strongly believe that the secret of living a fulfilling and happy life is based on having your loved ones. Material possessions can never substitute one family and friends as well.