Some people think that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

ِ Although it is widely thought by some that advertising is greatly successful when it comes to convincing people to buy a product. Other people including myself believe that advertising is becoming extremely common to the extent that people no longer pay it much attention. On the one hand, those who consider advertising to be an effective method of persuasion for buying a product might argue that the use of public figures and the human’s psychological need to copy them in the production of ads is the main reason for their effectiveness. In other words, humans especially youth tend to try to imitate their role models, therefore celebrities all over the world are being used to attract the public eye in the marketing sector. For instance, Pepsi, which is a soft drinks company, effectively makes good use of football players in their yearly advertising campaigns. On the other hand, many could argue that since advertising is getting more popular by the day, people are starting to lose interest in what is being advertised, and I agree. Although in today's world, ads could be found almost everywhere around us from TV commercials to billboards, flyers, and internet pop-ups, their abundance is making them less attractive. To illustrate, if someone paid attention to every ad that they daily face, they would be wasting an enormous amount of time. Additionally, knowing that the aim of most marketing strategies is commercialising their product, leads to people neglecting those ads and skipping them if possible. In conclusion, while people would vary in their opinion regarding the efficacy of advertising. I strongly side with the idea that the increasing prevalence of ads makes noticing them harder for that would require a significant amount of time.