Technological development leads to lots of environmental issues. Some people think a simple lifestyle can preserve the environment while others argue that technology itself can solve it. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In recent years, the sharp improvements in science and technology have noticeably changed our lives in both good and bad ways. Some say that they are gradually destroying the habitat while in my opinion, I believe that they also have the ability to help save our environment. To begin with, it is undeniable that a simple life without industrialization and technology development is more environmentally friendly as severe effects on our community are avoided. The busy streets of big cities and towns will no longer be filled with toxic smoke and fumes from factories and transportation vehicles. For example, the increasing need for lithium, which is hard to decompose, to create batteries to apply in all sorts of electrical devices, not to mention huge amounts of them used in electric car engines popularly occurring recently. Technological developments are demanded to improve societal situations, it’s not proper for humanity to stay in undeveloped conditions without having any enhancements to advance our living standards. On the other hand, one major advantage of enhancing technological applications in our lives is that they are aiming toward protecting the environment since our planet will be uninhabitable. Efforts are being made in progress in order to solve environmental difficulties which is, in other words, protecting our lives and generating possible opportunities for the future. For instance, genetic engineering is directly producing new breeds of plants and animals, not only to promote older ones to replace with more profitable and convenient versions of flora and fauna as well as humans, but also to recreate endangered and extinct species. Thus, the growth of technology has been playing an important role in saving the environment as well as methods to decrease the dependence of humans on unrenewable resources. To sum up, although a part of the society claims that technological and scientific growth is destroying the environment, I still consider it as an approach toward saving the habitat and improving our lives in the long run.