Many people prefer to spend money and not save it. What are the reasons? Is this positive or negative development?

Nowadays, more and more people have become materialistic. This essay will outline the reasons behind this new culture of spending and not saving and highlight its negative impact on people's lives. People tend to purchase more consumer goods that it becomes an essential part of their life. This is mainly attributable to the advertisements' smart strategy. In other words, companies promote their product in a way that draws people's attention and push them to buy items that they might use once or two, or maybe worse, never. For example, we see that a lot of luxury brands choose celebrities that have an influence on colossal fan bases as their ambassadors, so followers would spend immense amounts of money just to buy whatever their idols wear. Moreover, materialism has become a new trend and criterion to gain respect among the public, particularly for those who lack confidence and look for validation. For instance, young adults would buy expensive goods just to try and look rich, so they feel confident and presentable in front of people. This development caused people to become obsessed with buying more and saving less, leading to harmful and sometimes catastrophic results. The new trend of non-stop consumption has led to indebted individuals whose only goal is gaining money to spend. To put it differently, adults have developed this intrusive behaviour that its fulfilment doesn't last long, leading to stress and sometimes serious healthcare issues, such as depression or even suicide. As an example, a young person who finds himself trapped in endless debts, and can't break this non-ending circle of buying and spending, becomes depressed because of all the stress he is living. Consequently, people's mental health is threatened by this kind of development. In conclusion, people in today's life are more into spending instead of saving, whether it is because of advertisements or a futile try to seek society's validation. In both cases, these development has led to counterproductive and dangerous results that we should be aware of.