Today the majority of children are raised by their grandparents due to the fact that their parents are busy working. To what extent do you think it affects the whole family?

In the past, one of the parents, usually the mother, stay at home for looking after their children. Nowadays, career-oriented parents continue their jobs even if they have children. Grandparents are the best or perhaps the only choice for such parents, although there are some disadvantages. This emerging trend has affected almost every sphere of family life. Trustworthiness and parenting experience are two important factors which assure parents that their child is safe and properly taken care of. This allows parents to work with peace of mind. Apart from this, grandparents tend to teach values which are more or less consistent with the values of their parents. This not only narrows the generation gap but also saves children from being affected by the temporal trends. Like any debatable issue, this too has its either side. Many children cannot develop an intimate relationship band with their parents. This comes to the fore when grandparents die. At this time, children tend to feel lonely. Moreover, being in their sixties or seventies, grandparents find it difficult to take care of their grandchildren. It has nothing to do with their love and affection; rather it is a health and age-specific issue. In other words, grandparents have to spend their time with grandchildren but they want it to be a leisure pursuit and not a responsibility. In conclusion, the changing socio-economic era has forced parents to work more and more to satisfy their needs and desires. All this has left the parents with no or little choice but to leave children either with grandparents or in baby care centres.