Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different opinions on the main issue of the environment. From my perspective, while the reduction in the population of plants and animals can cause serious problems, global warming should be a more severe issue. On the one hand, the extinction of some species of plants and animals will destruct the balance of the ecosystem. For instance, if one species dies out, the hunter species that takes them as the main proportion of food resources will suffer from starvation, which causes a huge decrease in their population. As a chain effect, there will be another species that is confronted with hunger and causes many deaths. The balance of the ecosystem is vital to human beings because it connects with the food supply for us. Without the particular species, we may be up against the situation that there is not enough meat and vegetables for meals. The consequence may be boosted. First makes a lot of people in less-developed areas facing up to food shortage, soon it will affect the whole world since all our food supply is based on plants and animals. On the other hand, the temperature of the earth is growing(rising) up, which may cause problems not only with food supplements but also the decrease in places for living. Today, more and more people tend to choose a car as their transportation. The car will release a large amount of carbon dioxide, which is the main cause of global warming. In addition, as there are more and more factories, the polluted gas and liquid released into the ocean also damage the ocean ecosystem. As a result, the sea level will increase because of the melting ice caused by high temperatures, and the sea creature will also face serious extinction. The land is disappearing. It is reported that an island country will sink in at most 50 years. To sum up, we certainly need to be concerned about the loss of some species. But it is also a more severe issue in present days that we are now facing up homeless by global warming.