Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The discussion of what kind of personality should be encouraged has triggered a controversy. Some people believe that a sense of competition is more useful, whereas others argue that cooperation is of paramount importance to children. In my opinion, competition and cooperation are not mutually exclusive, and both competition and cooperation should be encouraged in children. A sense of competition contributes to individuals’ success and social progress, thus this personality should be encouraged when an individual is growing up. It is not uncommon that competition motivates people to perform better, so it can drive children to be better in both academic performance, self-discipline, career success and other aspects. The sports competition is a good telling example. It is a sense of competition that motivates athletes to break records and pushes them to achieve their career success. A leader who is told to be competitive in childhood is more likely to provide better services or products since he is not willing to be left behind and then make an every effort to create new ideas. On the other hand, cooperation helps children to improve their communication and organization skills which play a significant role in work. For example, in order to reach a consensus, organizing a meeting seems necessary so that team members can communicate with others and exchange their ideas. In the modern society, it is undeniable that under no circumstance can an individual accomplishes a whole task Even a basic task is required to communicate with others, regarding managers, they are capable of communication capacity which can make sure the teams run efficiently and organization skill which is essential to a group’s effectivity. Namely, cooperation and communication skills play a significant part in adult life, which mean that it is essential to foster these capacities in childhood. To conclude, in my opinion, competition as well as cooperation should be encouraged in children, for both are useful skills in helping them be succeed.