Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugar, which cause many health problems. Sugary products should be more expensive to encourge people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

The idea of whether companies ought to increase the price of sugary products in order to reduce consumption of sugar, or the price should be the same as before, remains a source of controversy. In my view, I believe people should be encouraged to reduce sugar intake in other ways than putting a high price on its products. To start with, due to the fact that a high-sugar diet brings about several side effects, the government and also society have always tried to put some schemes in terms of reducing carbohydrate consumption. Many researchers worked on the negative effect of improper diet, on people's health conditions, in recent years. The research concluded that not only widespread use of glucose resulted in diabetes, but also it caused many psychiatric disorders like depression. To explain more, this research shows that people who do not have a restricted diet, eat more food that consists of high levels of carbohydrates which leads to obesity. As a result of obesity, people are more vulnerable to be depressed. To tackle this problem, many societies have decided to raise the fee of sugary products. For example, in 2018, the UAE implemented a law that every kind of soda drink should cost triple than the organic ones. However, the higher price did not make most people not buy it. This law only affected the poor population who cannot afford that much money on a soda drink every day. Because of these, it seems to me that rising the fee of sugary products by the manufacturer will not have a sufficient effect on reducing glucose intake. Although, many measures can be taken by the government, such as increasing people's awareness about high blood glucose diseases and their consequences. In conclusion, there should be some restrictions on using sugary foods, but cutting down their price is not the best option.