A new generation of entrepreneurs believe that privately funded space tourism will be the next exciting development in space exploration. How true do you think this is? How would space tourism affect space exploration as we know it today?

I think it is very likely that space travel will become a popular activity in the private sector. There are wealthy people in the world who want to go into space, and there is a desire to take them there. All that these people need is the means to achieve their aims. To a certain extent, that means is already available, and some wealthy business people have already paid millions of dollars to travel into space. If they have done it, others will follow. Human beings have a natural tendency to go beyond their limits; it is this desire to push the boundaries that have motivated every explorer in the past. In the same way, space is definitely a place where business people in the travel industry are setting their sights. In fact, newspapers say that millionaires like Richard Branson are in the process of doing test flights to the edge of space. So it is only a matter of time before space tourism becomes a reality for the population as a whole. How that will change space exploration is an interesting question. As businesses will be concentrating on making profits and satisfying a general desire for adventure, it seems unlikely that they will have any influence on the work of space explorers. Essentially, the two activities are quite different; only by doing both would you make any link between them. Having said that; if space tourism were to become popular, it is quite possible that it would raise extra money that could be channelled back into space exploration in the form of enhanced technology and communications systems. This, in turn, might speed up the process of space exploration. In conclusion, space tourism seems an inevitable development. Whether or not it has an effect on the work of space explorers will depend on the level of success it has and the opportunities it opens up for scientific progress. Only time will tell.