Some feel that cities should be designed to be beautiful while others feel their functionality is more important. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

What is the most crucial quality for a city? Some propose that convenience and functionality should be the prime concern, while others contend that beauty, in terms of architecture and natural environment, should be a key requirment. I am of the view that aesthetically pleasing cities are more attractive to their citizens as well as tourists alike. A beautiful city is a magnet for development and tourism. Not only would travellers want to enjoy their holiday in a heavenly environment with much greenery and architectural monuments, but tycoons and merchants are also more inclined to invest and develop an area which is pleasing to the eye. A noteworthy example is Lucerne in Switzerland, where the picturesque city sitting on the edge of the lake has attracted millions of visitors each year, generating much revenue for the country, which in turn helped with its own development. Hence, a breath-taking city is priceless, contributing to economic livelihood in the form of development and tourism. Nonetheless, some may argue that the functional ability of a city is of greater signficance, as it can provides convenience for residents. Obviously, a city with proper infrastructures such as transportation systems, well-maintained sewage systems and the ability to minimise pollution can benefit their resident's quality of life. However, these networks can all be built and established with time and resources. Illustrations can be seen in industrial cities like Manchester and Liverpool, which were all well maintained with adequate function. They could hardly be considered adorable cities and is difficult to attract foreign investments or compete with scenic cities like Lucerne. To conclude, I personally believe the amazing beauty of a city is an innate invaluable trait, which is inborn and inherited and takes priority over the function of a city. Moreover, as function can be nurture and established with time and effort, having a lovely scenery to start with would be highly advantageous.