Nowadays people around the world are choosing to self-medicate rather than seeing a doctor and using conventional medicine. What are the causes of this change and what effects can be seen as a result?

Presently, a large number of people are inclined towards taking medicines as per their own instead of consulting with a doctor and taking proper medical procedures. This approach has reasons such as high cost of doctors ' appointment and a need to perform many test. Hence, it has adverse impact on people by shifting them to high potency medicines and various organ issues. To begin with, people nowadays try to medicate themselves because taking an appointment of a doctor is a costly affair. To clarify, when people have to consult a doctor, they need to pay an amount for a specific time and this amount is same for every visit. In addition, before strating a medicine course for any health issue, doctors always require report of certain tests and these tests are like a burden on people. A survey conducted by The Guardian newspaper in March, 2015 in the UK that 65% of people left seeing a doctor or their procedures because self-medication was a cheaper option. Consequently, since people start to take medicine without any advice of doctor, they may not be able to understand the potency of medicines. As a result, they become habitual of high doses which harm their health situation in long run. Moreover, taking medicine without expert advice may be a reason of organ failure as most of the oral medicines are notsuitable for digestive organs. For example, taking pain-killers or multivitamins without doctors advice can damage liver and kidney. To conclude, though people are interested into self-medication, they can save a lot of money from doctors ' appointments and tests; however, this trend is not a welcoming one as it can cause many health issues and organ failure.