What are the pros and cons of public transportation?

Transportation has connected the world and people use different means of transit. Although it is economical to use public transportation, it often takes time to reach the destination. The foremost advantage of using public transit is that it is the cheapest because the fare of these means is often fixed according to the distance and you can make a daily permit which usually is discounted if one is a daily commuter. For example, in a survey, it is revealed that individuals prefer public transport in order to save on monthly expenses. Moreover, as we know that global warming is a threat to our planet. However, by using railways or buses we can reduce the emissions produced by private vehicles. To illustrate, it was published in one of the researches on the pollution in Delhi that most of the pollution is generated by the use of private vehicles. Therefore, the government press the odd-even law to limit the private vehicles on roads. On the contrary, railways or buses make pre-defined stops which result in wastage of time. Moreover, these means of transit run at the specified time and route. For instance, many parts of the cities remain disconnected from public transportation. Hence, people are forced to use their private vehicles. Besides, public means of transportation are overloaded which makes them the least preferable choice among those who love to have a comfortable journey. In conclusion, even though it is cheap to use public transportation, it often results in wastage of time and uncomfortable journey.