Some people think that students should have educational leisure activities. Otherwise, it would be a complete waste of time. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some people that students should only have educational activities as leisure pursuits, since this is one of the best ways to utilize time wisely. I completely disagree with this idea because students learn many valuable life skills from non-academic extracurricular activities, which are full of fun and excitement rather than boring academia. Needless to say that non-education activities are useless as children learn a lot from them. Firstly, sport is the best pursuit for children to spend their leisure time as it has numerous benefits. Take, team sports, for instance, they teach children not only the importance of physical exercise but also impart team spirit to them. Games, such as basketball,cricket and football, encourage pupils to effort towards a common objective. As a result, students learn to support a common goal and keep the interests of team over their personal priorities. These skills are essential for work-life in the future where team work is imperative for success. Moreover, some extracurricular activities are mostly taken by children for enjoyment such as music and dancing. However, they are still not a waste of time since children can explore their hidden talents by taking part in these activities. Youngsters socialize by visiting dance and music clubs in their leisure which improves their communication skills. These pursuits are also beneficial in the long run as sometimes children pursue their careers in these fields. In conclusion, free time pursuits for children should not be academic, as they must be entertaining and relaxing. In my opinion, therefore, Non-educational activities in leisure are a great source of learning useful skills for adult life.