In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is plenty of city planners consider that diverse functional buildings should be divided into different places instead of gathering them together. From my perspctive, it is not a reasonable suggestion beacause its gains can not compensate its costs. It is ture sure that if we separate functional buildings, such as, super markets, liberaries, excutive insititutions, into different concerns of cities, the cities can get a lot of beniefits. For example, in a multi-center city, residents have to go diverse areas of this city to deal with their issues rather than gather into one city center, so the heavy traffic would be moderated, given the traffic jam which is brought by densely population is a typical problem of modern cities, it is a good idea to build the multi-center city. However, Since the building of multi-center city requires huge amount of money to build transportation infrastrctures infrastructures to connect different parts of the city, the cost of building this kind of city is unaffordable for the most of local goverments government, especially for small cities. Moreover, if the building of multi-center city runs out the limited budget of local goverments government, other essential public service, for example, the investment on educational insititutions, will be underfunded, which is not a positive thing for the development of a city in a long term. From above discussions, it is clear to see that the gains of building the multi-center city can not outweigh the cost of it. To sum up, even if separating functional buildings of a city would generate some benefits, but the huge cost of this proposal prevents it becoming a reasonable choice for many cities.