To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

It is often believed that countries should utilize the consumption of insects as food whereas others suggest that the consumption of insects is unhealthy and harmful to nature. To begin with, the consumption of healthy products is essential for the growth of people in a population. Insect based products have been considered by many as not nutritious and could consequently result in potential harm to the body. The ingestion of these insects can also cause affect nature by damaging the ecosystem. For example, some medical conditions have been linked to the consumption of insects as they don't contain the essential balanced diet required for the growth and development of people. This is important to promote increased productivity of people in the particular society. However, a school of thought suggest that to increase food in a growing population, insect such be consumed as a meal. This when prepared correctly would not pose a risk to general health. Consumption of such products would help provide more varieties of edible food and would reduce the cost spent on purchasing certain food items. This will reduce the financial implications it poses on the people thereby improving the lifestyle of people. For instance, an individual might not have to spend as much money purchasing food items and cereal in the house when he can easily kill, cook and properly garnish an insect. This limits the resources spent by individuals in society. In conclusion, the consumption of insects as meals can have both advantages such as serving as good food for the population and disadvantages such as posing as threats to healthy living.