Some people think that government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the figures for overweight in childhood remain increasing and some people opine that it is the responsibility of the government. However, I totally disagree with that because the health of our children depends solely on the parents and the context that they provide. Although the national leaders are the responsible for promoting health and should make sure that their laws foster wellbeing, creating for example taxes on sugar drinks or lollies, the obesity issue comes from a deeper and stronger aspect; the family, the first society of all individuals and where we all learn our values and beliefs. So that, In my perspective, children are becoming obese because of parents that do not see this as a problem and maintain prejudicial habits related to nutrition. Lack of positive role models and sedentarism, for instance, are impacting new generations, thus, young children, being fed by fast- junk food, and artificial aliments are at imminent risk to gain exaggerated weight, such if they do not practice any physical activity, the situation could be even worst. Moreover, if they see that their parents do the same, never go for a walk and all the time are ingesting unhealthy food without any doubt they will develop as adults with those characteristics in their life as normal and appropriate. On the other hand, if a child constantly is doing exercise, playing and using their gross motor skills, surrounded by vegetables and fruits, she or he will find those aspects enjoyable and part of their life, even with advertisements related to unhealthy food, their habits will be already set and unlikely will change. To conclude, I disagree with the idea that children's obesity is the consequence of our unproductive governments because the roots of this are in the family lifestyle and the patterns that our youngest are learning from their parents.