Some believe elderly people should live in nursing homes, others think they should live with the family members. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Changing views about keeping elderly people in old age homes has gained much more scholarly attention, especially in the recent past years. Although, keeping them in nursing homes or old age homes does more harm than good or vice-versa is a debatable topic. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail and put forward several reasons why keeping them together with the family have several favourable elements that are required for their happiness and well-being. Admittedly, it is true that nursing homes are designed considering the requirements of senior citizens. For,example these places hire special Nurses who are experienced in taking care of old people and helping them in following the right routine including eating a healthy diet and doing exercises. Moreover, these places are well-equipped with recreation centres and socializing areas where people of the same age and interests can come together. Although, a number of benefits can be attributed to these nursing homes. Despite these,benefits we cannot dismiss the deluge of benefits, old people can gain when they live around their families. For example, old people need a lot of emotional support when they feel physically weak and this is the time when their children and grandchildren act as big mental support to cheer them up, unlike in nursing homes. Another considerable reason is living with elders gives more family time which would lack if they live in nursing homes. For example, elderly homes are professional places and they follow a set routine which makes it difficult for families with busy work schedules to spend more time with their parents as they need to plan their meetings as per the available meeting time slots of the nursing homes. To conclude, although both sides have merits and demerits, I believe the latter proposition has several favourable elements because of the reasons outlined above.