In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

It is commonly believed that being a house owner rather than a renter is significant in some countries. The reasons for this condition are discussable. In my opinion, although having a dwelling can bring some advantages, it also poses certain disadvantages. Admittedly, owning a home can be an indicator of a successful life, which is the probable reason why people regard a self-owned dwelling as a major life achievement. Being a house owner can have a better sense of security. Without self-owned habitation, people would face the possibility of being forced to pay more rental fees or to move. In other words, living in an own home means having control of own life to some extent. Secondly, a personally owned accommodation can stand for insurance of the property. It can be seen as a self-investment to pay the house loan to the bank, rather than the rental fee to the landlord. However, the drawbacks of owning a house cannot be ignored. First of all, according to the developing economy, the future value of everything is unpredictable. It cannot be ensured by anyone whether the house will be worth the same after years of paying for the loan, while the changeable rental fee might reflect the true value of the dwelling, keeping up with the time. Another demerit of owning a house is that the more reliable a self-owned dwelling is, the fewer freedom people can have in their life. People who rent houses can live their life more flexible, being a digital nomad or worldwide traveller for example, without the pressure of the loan or maintenance work of a self-owed house. In conclusion, although it is understandable that having a personal accommodation is vital, I maintain the view that it is a double-edged sword, and the negative impacts cannot be disregarded.