In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is predicted that traditional newspapers and books will be replaced by online news and articles in the future. From my perspective, online media cannot displace the printed counterparts entirely. Admittedly, online reading has become popular due to its available and eco-friendly features. Result of the well-developed internet, people act able to reach nearly all of the publishments effortlessly from the internet via their personal devices. Not to mention the convenience of carrying and the lightweight compared to the printed one. Another reason why people prefer to read online is that the importance of protecting the environment is more valued these days. Choosing the online approach to gain information and knowledge rather than the books or newspapers cuts down the amount of paper usage. Therefore, green groups in increasing number put efforts into convincing the public or the publishing companies to change their old patterns in an environmentally friendly way. However, there are certain merits of paper news and book that cannot be disregarded. One of the main factors is that printing is a form of art. The readers can get some extra abstract experiences through the printing technique or even the touch of the paper, for example, the writers’ emotions or the feeling the book is providing, which are beyond the texts. Secondly, printed books and newspapers are more protective of the authors. As the internet becomes more common, online criminals are thriving, which means that the articles online are easily stolen or altered by hackers. Therefore, copyright protection is ultimately difficult to be fulfilled on the internet. In conclusion, I do believe that online reading has certain edges, however, the traditional newspaper and books have no possibility to be disappeared.