It is common that in many companies people from different ages work together in a same team. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantges?

Most of the organizations have a mixed blend of different age groups working towards a united goal of providing profit to the company. This essay will discuss the advantages of distinct age categories working in one team which includes varied experience and maturity. This essay will also analyze the drawbacks of having many age groups in a team including generation gap and compatibility. The greatest benefit of distinctive ages in a team is the variety of experiences they share with their colleagues. Furthermore, old adults have prior work experience which would largely help to resolve problems in an efficient manner, and it eventually results in time-savings whereas young people are more jovial and energetic which leads to a vibrant office environment. For instance, consider a team finds a defect in their software code, an experienced person can effortlessly find the solution in no time. To illustrate further, a young employee can entertain others after a busy workday schedule by cracking jokes which swiftly changes everyone’s mood. Therefore, having a variety of ages within a team is beneficial to the team and individuals. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to this working group such as compatibility and generation gap leading to differences in ideologies. It is highly likely to develop differences among people of various ages because of the differences in their approaches to work. For example, an elderly person might consider a detailed analytical approach to solve a problem, nevertheless, a person of a smaller age would suggest a quick and easy approach for the same which would undoubtedly result in conflicts and disagreements. Thus, people of different ages can cause undesirable issues within the team. To conclude, it is ubiquitous to find companies allocating individuals of different ages within a team or group. Even though it has merits such as distinct experience and maturity, it can also lead to demerits including generation gap and compatibility. In my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.