You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Science can become a powerful weapon if countries use it wisely. Some people think that it is good to share the information to other countries in scientific research, whereas some people believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. In my opinion, although sharing information can benefit our society, it is a waste of budget for some countries. First of all, if all of the countries need to share their scientific research, other countries would choose to wait for the information. This means that the level of scientific research will decelerate since they can just wait for free information shared by other countries. For example, if a country can get the latest medicine which can cure Covid-19, then why that country would spend huge amount of budget to develop the medicine by their lab? It is unworthy to do research by themselves. Moreover, if the scientific information should be shared freely to other countries, then the method of producing nuclear weapons would also be shared equally. To be specific, all of the countries would own nuclear weapons. Therefore, this might cause a disaster to our earth if there is a regional conflict or even a global conflict between countries. Once the country decides to bombard these weapons, it would cause a catastrophe to people, lands, and water. Last but not least, although most of the countries, especially developing countries, can be benefit from the free information, these countries would lose their competence at the same time. Furthermore, if the main research country decides not to share the information freely, other countries would be restricted by the main country. For instance, since most of the counties in Africa need financial aids, those countries become alleys in international conferences of the country which offers financial aids for them. To sum up, it is hard to deny that sharing the information in scientific research can increase welfare of whole society. However, I think disadvantages outweigh advantages for many countries.