Prison is the common way in most countries to try to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Do you agree or disagree?

A traditional way of punishing the culprits is by locking them behind the bars, however there is another way of preventing it by providing the public with a good education. I completely agree that educating the pupils can prevent the occurrence of violence to a great extent. I shall discuss my thoughts in the following essay to support my opinion. To commence with, education provides one with the wisdom which enables them to differentiate between good and bad. For example, it is evident from the English countries that the literacy rate and the crime rate are inversely proportional.The ethics and morale which they are taught in the process will not let them incline towards committing any violent actions. Moreover, the theoretical knowledge that they gain from the studies will empower them with the consequences one should face when they commit crimes. On the other hand, the punishments in the prisons bring some guilt and fear to the prisoners. It may not last for longer periods when returning to society. So, As per the famous saying "Prevention is better than,cure" I opine that educating the public is a prevention step to control crime. In conclusion, not only does education provide wisdom and knowledge but also provides the youngsters with employment opportunities which can gradually result in the downfall of the crime rate.