The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In order to solve environmental problems, governments in the world have been seeking various methods. Some people suggest that increasing the cost of fuel for cars is the best way. I admit that it certainly can give an advantage of environmental protection. However, this way is also followed by some drawbacks and more efficient and effective ways should be adopted. On the one hand, the elevated fuel price can reduce the use and purchases of private cars. Due to the high cost, people are willing to choose public transportation like buses or subways when they go out, which greatly decreases their carbon footprint. Furthermore, some people who have plans to buy a new car, are likely to consider hybrid cars or electric vehicles as a better choice as a result of cost-efficiency. As a consequence, the use and the purchases of gas-powered cars all present downward trends, which therefore yields many benefits to the environment. On the other hand, I am not in the support of the perspective that raising fuel prices is the best way. Because of the policy, many fuel companies tend to exploit more fossil fuels like oil for high profits, which leads to dire damage to the environment, So, more efficient ways should be taken into consideration. For instance, governments should explore alternative energies via developing solar energy or building up offshore wind farms and increase people’s environmental awareness through public signs. Only by taking these measures together can we solve environmental problems in a better way In conclusion, increasing the fuel cost will be conducive to protecting the environment. But just doing so is not enough and more measures should be explored and adopted.