Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Competition and cooperation seem to be two opposite ways of relating to others. Some people believe that children should be encouraged to be competitive, while others believe that learning how to teamwork is much more crucial. Even though I can see the benefit of learning to compete, especially for girls, I do think cooperation requires advanced and well-rounded skills that need to be stressed more than the competition. Life is a chain of ups and downs. Children can learn how to deal with failures and frustration during competition. With a sensitive and vulnerable ego, people can do crazy things, some of which are detrimental. For example, one of the most common motivations for men murdering women is men being rejected. This toxic masculinity costs life. Children, especially boys, should learn that failures are not the end of the world but just everyday life. We are still valuable and loveable people even though we have weaknesses and sometimes are not liked by others. On the other hand, girls should be encouraged to explore their aggressiveness and be proud to be ambitious. This will only liberate half of the human capital and make our society a better world. For instance, when asked how many female judges would be appropriate in court, RBG said, nine. Only with this ambition and aggressiveness, women can have the hope to break the glass ceilings. Even though I passionately hold the view that competition is important for children, I do think cooperation needs to be encouraged and addressed more. Cooperation is more complicated than competition as the former requires all sets of skills, such as trust, leadership and empathy on the cognitive level as well as the emotional level. For example, when a student is doing a school project with other classmates, some of them would just want to take a free ride. It is easy to get agitated in this situation. However, a good leader or team worker would try to put aside his/her own feelings first and try to understand what matters to these members and how to use it to motivate them. Or what difficulties they met and how to help them to engage smoothly. Helping oneself through helping others and thus finding a win-win solution. This is the quality that heals a polarized society as we have right now and helps everyone to thrive. In conclusion, even though I think competition can teach children a lot, cooperation and leadership are more urgent than ever in today's polarized world.