One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantage of this development outweighs the disadvantages?

Today, the unprecedented advancements in the medical healthcare system result in the phenomena that people’s lifespan is significantly increasing. Although there is a concern that this issue probably causes many detrimental influences to societies, I firmly believe this development could create more merits than its demerits. To begin with, people arguing that the increasing life expectancy brings several drawbacks have their own reasons. Firstly, the most noticeable evidence is that people live longer means there is a gradually rising need for doctors, nurses and especially medical equipment and facilities. As a consequence, governments have to consider spending an astronomical extra budget to support and fund the treatment costs as well as hospital resources. Besides, not everyone can afford first -class treatment. In other words, the poor class may not have a chance to access these advancements. On the other hand, it is actually a miracle for those who can approach the improved medical care system. At an individual level, having longer longevity means that people have more time to enjoy their life. They probably spend extra time to travel and visit places they have never been to before or just take care of their offspring. And at a nation's economic level, any country having an ultra-modern methodology in treatment always has more stable and developed economics. When people’s average life span increases, the retirement age would probably rise as well and hence they have more time for dedicating and making profits to the marketplace. Besides, their precious experience in working and communicating is a valuable and inspirational thing to be shared with youngsters to motivate them to reach greater achievements. To sum up, despite some aforementioned downside, the improved developments in the medical healthcare sector have undoubtedly decreased the fatal diseases deseases’s rate in the whole world and brought us a better quality of life. As a result, the elderly are currently no longer a serious burden as before.