Some people believe that technology has made man more social. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Experts around the globe in developed and developing countries have debated whether the ultilization of sophisticated modern technology, such as mobile phones and ipads, has enhanced and improved our social life or whether the opposite has become the case. As evidenced by internet and online platforms like Facebook and Whatsapp, I firmly believe technology brings people together and strengthen our bondings with those around us. Some may argue that there is ample evidence that such technology has deterimental effect on our mental well-being, especially for youngsters, who are easily affected by addictive nature of internet. Futhermore, cyberspace will cause futher isolated from the society, and our next generation is unable to develop genuine social skills required for work and social life. Research by University of Hong Kong has shown over fifty percent of people spend far more time with mobile phones or online apps such as Youtube, Facebook or Instagram than face-to-face communication with their families or friends. As a result, it is conclusively clear that these technological advancements have diminished our real life interactions. On the other hand, the multifold advantages of technology cannot be overstate. For example, family members in various parts of the world can meet in virtual meetings like Zoom, allowing them to connect freely and easily without geographical barrier, which can enhance feeling of proximity and closeness. In addition, online platforms and chatrooms brings people with the same interest or hobbies together, allowing inspirations and discussions, overcoming the barriers of race, time and distance. In times of lockdown during COVID, people can communicate with their loved one via Whatsapp and Facebook, thus reduce their sense of loneliness and isolation. All in all, technology has tightened social bonding in our society. To conclude, bonding between the family members, friend and various sectors of the society has strengthened and grown because of the new development of technology. It is foreseeable that, with reasonable policies to address the threats due to overuse, these technology will allow our society to flourish.