In many countries, children start learning a second language when they are still in primary school. What are the benefits and drawbacks of learning a second language at an early age? You should write at least 250 words. You should spend around 40 minutes on this task.

In contemporary times, children have begun to learn a second language while in elementary school. In this essay, I contend that this trend can undoubtedly enhance their language skills, whereas this may have more likelihood of causing more burden in terms of competition. On the one hand, second languages can indeed provide numerous benefits, particularly in abroad interaction. For instance, due to current globalization, individuals are more likely to communicate with foreigners. To communicate without language barriers, schooling pupils with bilingual systems in their childhood may be an advisable approach. Consequently, Taiwan, Korea and other developed countries generally have propelled this bilingual education, thereby ensuring that young people can cultivate a comprehensive conversation, communicate more effectively, and ultimately be similar to a native speaker later in the future. Despite the fact that pupils would receive a fluent exotic language ability, there was considerable pressure during their time of learning second languages. This stress might lead to some negative emotions. For instance, many renowned educational experts indicated that bilingual students need to suffer more training stress because of second languages which may result in certain mental diseases, especially depression. Furthermore, second languages suggest that students must compete more with others compared with those who only learn local languages. Accordingly, with more competition, it is unsurprising that younger people need to pay more attention to their learning, and their pressure increasingly accumulates. Eventually, they might fall into a vicious cycle of learning. In summary, second languages can indeed help children develop their international horizons more comprehensively, thereby communicating with foreigners more efficiently. However, invisible learning pressure is gradually increasing and may cause some mental problems.