Some feel that cities shold be designed to be beautiful while others feel their functionality is more important. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is considered by some people that visual attractions in a city are more important, while there are others who believe that it is more desirable to pay attention to its functionality. There are rational arguments on both sides of this contentious topic which will be discussed in detail, followed by my own take on this. On the one hand, there are those who are reasoning that the beautifulness of people's surroundings has a direct effect on their spirit. To put it another way, individuals spend a huge amount of their time outside their houses; watching an undesirable scenery all the time will have an irrecoverable effect on their spirit and behaviour as well. In addition, beautifying a city would inclouds planting flowers and trees which would be beneficial to reducing air and noise pollution. As a direct consequence, this will boost the lifestyle of the neighbourhood in many aspects. On the other hand, the opposing view asserts that the improvement of the accessibility of services to all people is way more important as this will affect the everyday life of residents. The most compelling reason for their assertion is that individuals use public services all day round including public transportation, hospitals, and school. Indeed, their satisfaction with their urban life will be influenced by the level of services they receive. Moreover, a comprehensive city design considers the safety of people in all aspects all around the place in addition to other functions. In other words, people could feel more comfortable about their own safety if they can trust their town's functionality. In conclusion, there are valid arguments on both sides of the controversy; on balance, however it is my firm conviction that attention should be paid to the usefulness of the city design to all residents since it can have a determinant effect on the people's lives.