Scientists predict that all people will choose to talk the same global language in the future. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is thought by some, that in some centuries only one common language will be used by people all over the world. In my opinion, this is a negative development which can lead to an increase in a number of brain diseases, a disappearance of different original cultures and tourism collapse. The first serious problem that can be caused by choosing the only language for the whole planet is the raise of hard brain illnesses. In particular, statistic confirms that people who are bilingual or know more than one language on the professional level has 50% less risk of having Alzheimer’s. Therefore, if the majority of the population on the Earth will speak a common language, the number of brain diseases among people of all ages will increase dramatically. Another issue is that the mother tongue is a great part of the culture of every nation. For instance, there are words in Scandinavian languages, that do not exist in other cultures, hence foreigners cannot understand the meaning of these concepts. That means that losing the native language will lead to losing some part of cultural uniqueness. Finally, speaking the same languages will give people less motivation to travel to foreign countries. According to the research, the opportunity to learn some new words, communicate with native speakers and deal with the language barrier is the second of the most important reasons for people to visit different countries. As a result, the number of tourists will reduce and the travel businesses will fail, creating high unemployment. In conclusion, although some people believe that talking common language will give the humanity many benefits, it cannot be considered a positive development because of the problems it will cause.